Antiques & Collectibles

(844) 828-7855
P.O. Box 12048, Tempe, AZ 85284


Shop by Category

Beebe William; Jungle Peace

SKU: Beebe William AB011311-011 $74.95
FIRST EDITION of Jungle Peace by William Beebe published by Henry Holt & Co. New York in 1918. Illustrated from photographs. Sixteen plates. Blue cloth stamped in gilt. Bottom and fore-edge uncut. Octavo. 297 pages with eight pages of ads. Minor rubbing slightly bumped corners and spine ends which are beginning to fray some soiling spine lettering is almost completely rubbed off and discoloration to the edges and spine. Small pencil notations to the front free endpaper. Rear hinge is beginning to crack. A very good copy by an American naturalist and explorer. William Beebe AKA Charles William Beebe Born: 29-Jul-1877 Birthplace: Brooklyn NY Died: 4-Jun-1962 Location of death: Trinidad and Tobago Remains: Buried Mucurapo Cemetery Port-of-Spain Trinidad and Tobago Occupation: Scientist Zoologist Nationality: United States Summary: William Beebe was the first scientist to descend deep into the abyss reporting on undersea life humans had never before seen. He was best known for his 1930s explorations using an early bathysphere designed by his colleague Otis Barton. Circular in shape to better withstand the pressure of deep-sea depths the 5000-pound contraption tethered for oxygen and electricity to a mother ship at the surface allowed Beebe and Barton to descend to 3028 feet beneath the ocean's surface -- about six times the record depth survived by previous divers. Beebe and Barton starred in a 1938 documentary about their dives Titans of the Deep scripted by another famous traveler Lowell Thomas. Before achieving his fame Beebe worked as Assistant Curator of Birds at the Bronx Zoo then led numerous scientific expeditions to far-flung corners of the world for the New York Zoological Society usually accompanied by his first wife Blair an oceanographer and travel writer. He was a frequent contributor to National Geographic magazine and the author of an in-depth four-volume study of pheasants. Beebe was cited as an inspiration to Rachel Carson who dedicated her best-selling The Sea Around Us to him. He also hired photographer Floyd Crosby to accompany him on a Haitian expedition in 1927 which was Crosby's first professional camerawork. Crosby later had great success as a cinematographer filming such classics as From Here to Eternity and High Noon and winning the Oscar for Tabu in 1931. He was the father of rock'n'roller David Crosby. After being divorced by his first wife on grounds of ''extreme cruelty'' Beebe had her name expunged from republished editions of his early books. She became a successful writer as Blair Niles her name from a subsequent marriage. Her fictionalized account of their visit to the nightmarish Devil's Island penal colony in French Guiana was published as Condemned to Devil's Island and filmed as an early talkie in 1929 starring Ronald Colman. Beebe's second wife Elswyth Thane was a well-known writer of historical and romance novels including her 'Williamsberg' series of adventures spanning American history from the Revolution to World War II. Unlike his first wife she had no interest in accompanying him on his adventures and reportedly married him only on condition that she could stay at their Vermont farm and work on her novels. Her Reluctant Farmer is an account of their marriage. Father: Charles Beebe (paper wholesaler) Mother: Henrietta Beebe (homemaker) Wife: Mary Blair Rice Beebe (''Blair Niles'' author/explorer b. 1880 m. 1902 div. 1913 d. 1959) Wife: Elswyth Thane Ricker Beebe (''Elswyth Thane'' author b. 1900 m. 1927 d. 1984) High School: East Orange High School East Orange NJ (1894) University: BS Columbia University (1898) Scholar: Columbia University (1898-99) New York Zoological Society Author of books: Two Bird Lovers in Mexico (1905 with Mary Blair Beebe a.k.a. Blair Niles) The Log of the Sun: A Chronicle of Nature's Year (1906) Our Search for a Wilderness (1908 with Mary Blair Beebe a.k.a. Blair Niles) A Monograph of the Pheasants (1918 four volumes) Jungle Peace (1918) Edge of the Jungle (1921) Galapagos: World's End (1924) Jungke Days (1925) The Arcturus Adventure (1926) Pheasants their Lives and Homes (1926) Pheasant Jungles (1927) Beneath Tropic Seas: A Record of Diving among the Coral Reefs of Haiti (1928) Nonsuch: Land of Water (1932) Field Book of the Shore Fishes of Bermuda (1933) Beneath Tropical Seas: A Record of Diving among the Coral Reefs of Haiti (1937) Zaca Venture (1938) Book of Bays (1942) High Jungle (1949) Half-Mile Down (1951) Adventuring with Beebe (1955)